Apply HEAT For Better Results

I like raw food.  I like the crispy crunchy.  I like the fresh taste.  I like how quick you can prepare a raw meal.  But I also like to get the most out of my food.  Thus, in order for my food to be all that it can be I have to cook some of them.  “Help me help you!”

Let me just start by saying that boiling veggies to a pulp reduces the nutritional value by 30%,  and when you’re not making a soup you through out the minerals and vitamins with the water.  So watch it…

Here is a list of veggies (that we all normally eat raw) better off with some help added:

 

Carrots

Cooking carrots breaks down some of their harder to digest fibers, softening tough cellular walls, so you can better absorb the beta-carotene content.  Beta-carotene is converted to vitamin A (this should ring high school Bio 101 bells..)  Vitamin A is beneficial for your, bone health and immune system.  Boiling or steaming carrots also makes it easier to absorb its carotenoids (antioxidants).

 

Tomatoes

Don’t you just love that colour?  I swear tomatoes taste so good because of that colour!  I might be right…  Tomatoes contain lycopene, a cancer fighting nutrient, and also a phytonutrient.  Colour explained!  Cooking tomatoes enhances the antioxidant power as well as making the lycopene easier to absorb.

 

Mushrooms

Hhhmmmushrooms!  A source of vitamin D.  But did you when you sauté, boil, grill, etc. these fungi trees, it heightens their muscle building potassium?  That is a double happy (or triple for some..)

 

Spinach

We all know spinach is a very healthy leafy green but add a bit of heat and you’ll absorb more calcium, iron and magnesium!  (For everyone this time) triple pow!  The oxalic acid, which is found in many leafy greens, blocks the absorption of iron and calcium.  Light steaming, cooking or even sauteing  helps reduce the oxalic acid, meaning you helped spinach help you!

Leave a Reply

